174 Comments
Apr 21·edited Apr 21

Last night was my first opportunity to watch Obaze in person. Although I think I was among the first to hear she was coming here, I really didn't know what to expect. I was very happy with what I saw. She didn't face too many difficult moments, although she did handle Alozie well in one of those moments. Rather, what really struck me is that she's smooth, calm, efficient, and knows her role. Hard to believe she's only 21 and doesn't have a huge amount of international experience behind her. That was just her third match (all starts) in NWSL, and she looked far better back there than Hubly, and far better mate for Sauerbruun. Hats off to Mike Smith for spotting her, and good recovery by the club when we lost Sevecke.

Expand full comment

Something I found a little strange: no sign of Karina tonight?

I have been to every home game since she was hired and she has done that walk around pre-match with her daughter and then she goes and stands in the same spot every game, in eyesight of where I sit. Didn’t do the walk before the game, and didn’t see her on the sidelines at all during. Was she around at all after??

Expand full comment

Palate cleanser/amuse bouche—deploy.

Good god did they need that. Good god, did I need that.

So happy for the squad, next week should feel like unicorns crapped rainbows and gold nuggets all around the park while they were out. Now please cleanse these Kansas City fever dreams haunting me ATM.

LFG

Expand full comment

The Houston Dash-acting as your league's palate cleansers for ten years!

Expand full comment
Apr 21·edited Apr 21

Really fun win, alas almost equalized by Hogan.

Alvarado has to push Hogan for the starting job asap. The latter just isn't a starter, alas.

All the field players had good games, some of them even great ones.

Was really happy with Obaze. Would be thrilled never to see Hubly start again.

Muller is fantastic.

Fleming looked much better tonight. Now I'd like to see her do it with Moultrie out there and without having to run Sinc 60 minutes in the attack for Fleming find her comfort zone. Sinc looked utterly gassed when she came off, and it's not good for Moultrie's development -- and our future -- to have her coming on as Fleming's sub to see out matches.

Expand full comment

I know I should temper my expectations because Houston, but this win has me excited.

Expand full comment

The game became a track meet once Sinclair went out and our horses are way better than theirs.

Expand full comment

Trade Linnehan for Sinclair and I like that starting 11 a lot.

Expand full comment

Yay Janine!

Expand full comment

Yaaaaaassssss. I'm here for the party in Portland. So to speak.

Expand full comment

Oh man. I wish Linnehan made that. That would've been a prefect start for her.

Expand full comment

I would like to see a lot more of Ms. Linnehan pls and thx

Expand full comment

Sophia! You have to make that.

Expand full comment

So heady

Expand full comment

Beautiful play! Nice finish, Liv.

Expand full comment

Beautiful! Go Moultrie

Expand full comment

Gawd, Hogan not ready for prime time.

Expand full comment

Shelby why the fuck are you so slow on the ball there?

Expand full comment

Jiminy cricket. Yikes

Expand full comment

Muller’s super fun

Expand full comment

Chesky...FFS.

Expand full comment

Wow. That's a bad no call.

Expand full comment

I forgot how much I fucking hate Chesky, glad she’s reminding me

Expand full comment
Apr 21·edited Apr 21

Man, Sugita's gotten through clear like four times in this match, and every time the ball to her was overhit. =(

Expand full comment

Is Chesky going to forget to send ordonez off???)?

Expand full comment

That would've been incredible.

Expand full comment

Linnehan!

Expand full comment

Soccer ball looks like a baseball

Expand full comment

Are Beckie and Moultrie not available? Crazy one of them isn’t in the game.

Expand full comment

Hogan got away with one there.

Expand full comment

Z

Expand full comment

Wonder if the coach still thinks the tactics are sound?

Expand full comment

Nasty little deflection sent Hogan the wrong way. It was the first cross from our left side that set it all up.

Expand full comment

Aaaand back to the clown-tier defense. *sigh*

Expand full comment

Cringe. Yikes.

Expand full comment

This team looks good for the first 45 minutes. I worry that the constant counterpress is going to tire them out and let Houston back into the game.

I think Sinclair had an ok half. Not epic, but not terrible. But I would love to see Beckie come on and slide Soph into the middle.

Obaze has been doing pretty well albeit not much has been asked of her.

Expand full comment

This double pivot is unsurprisingly doing wonders for Fleming. Midfield still looks like they have some chemistry to develop, but MILES better overall. Love love love Hin at the 8.

Houston also switched to a 4-back for the last 15 or so. Something to watch for sure.

Expand full comment

Lots of high fives from the bench for the players coming off at half. They were also very hyped about Shelby's save (as they should be)

Expand full comment

Good half. They are doing some experimenting and Houston is a good club to experiment on.

Expand full comment

Why did they trade Kuikka?

Expand full comment

Reyes is definitely playing as an inverted fullback which is a new wrinkle. It puts a lot of pressure on the remaining three but she's been useful in the attack

Expand full comment

To my surprise (given how much "play her at the 10!" screeching I've done), I really like Hina in this box-to-box mid role. It _shouldn't_ be a surprise, given her demonstrated versatility, though.

Dangit, I just realized this match and the Tokyo Verdy Beleza match are gonna overlap a bit. Ah, well...that's why web browsers have multiple tabs...

Expand full comment

Nice Hogan!

Expand full comment

Sinclair, you gotta actually get that.

Expand full comment

When Becky comes up , she keeps not seeing a diagonal pass to weaver and settles for square to Reyes.

Expand full comment

Poor Jane Campbell. I feel sorry for her.

Expand full comment

Houston is awful, but mannn this is nice to see

Expand full comment

I know we shouldn't get too excited because it's Houston, but thank goodness.

Expand full comment

Nice Muller! Playing the entire length of the pitch

Expand full comment