139 Comments

Seems like I picked a good game to miss.

Expand full comment

You did. I didn’t. Think along the lines of staring into the sun.

Expand full comment

Why you gotta do the Sun like that, @Thornando?

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

Meanwhile, Morocco is dominating South Korea…wouldn't have guessed that. Amazing going from watching the Challenge Cup to watching the WC… Morocco looks miles better than our poor Thorns. They super gritty and fun. You can tell they really play for eachother.

Expand full comment

Ok, who’s looking forward to OL Reign and then NCC? Lol. Can we go for all losses but one in this window?

Expand full comment
founding

You realize that if Jamaica gets a draw against Brazil, Kerolin will be back at NCC by the 20th. We could be the first NWSL team to lose a game by double digits.

Expand full comment

We'll have Rocky! (Sort of... Hopefully she can start contributing real minutes when she gets back)

Expand full comment

Yeah! Though she looked very rusty and hesitant to get into any sort of physicality when she subbed in. Kinda made it more apparent that she wasn't quite ready, or at least wasn't mentally ready after coming back from a knee injury. Rocky is typically a get-stuck-into-tackles super physical player, and that isn't at all what I saw.

I think it will be telling how she is in their final game, and if she even starts. Even before her injury she wasn't really getting any minutes at the Thorns, so I imagine she isn't super game-fit. I'll absolutely love to have her back here, but I'm not sure if we'll be able to count on her to come back and make a huge difference, unfortunately. The consolation is that we won't have to count the turnovers of Porter if Rocky can slot back into midfield. Again though, Rocky can have similar derps when she isn't game-fit (and I don't really blame her- she needs minutes to build confidence esp after a knee injury.)

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

Yeah, and they should be getting O’Sullivan back by then…a huge player to get back. Also could get their Danish striker back by then. Feels bleak…

At least we didn’t have to see Mandy on the other side of the field today for her debut when we lost.

Expand full comment

If USWNT face Sweden in the knockouts they might be coming back early as well.

Expand full comment

Speaking of unlikely exits, Germany are now at risk, too: they got beat by Colombia. While it's unlikely they'll drop points to a surprisingly bad South Korean side, in this WWC, it seems anything can happen.

Expand full comment

Vlatko will start Rose Lavelle and we'll ride the 11 Iron Women. What could go wrong?

Expand full comment

Well, if Horan's knee holds up I'll be shocked.

I seriously thought van de Donk had ended her WWC for her.

And speaking of which, I was impressed and surprised to see Horan and van de Donk patch it up at the end.

I guess it's easier to do (1) after you've scored a Fury Equalizer and (2) when your frenemy is wearing a swim cap to control scalp bleeding.

Prior to that, I just kept thinking "Preseason's gonna be a blast for you two! Good luck playing together in the same midfield!"

Expand full comment

They better move Julie to the 6 if they want a chance at that match. Maybe they score a bunch of golazos next match and avoid them.

Expand full comment

The Ertz at CB thing (given the US's lack of midfield) makes no sense to be unless you're playing Vietnam or someone like that. Against the Netherlands? Madness!

Expand full comment

Agreed. It comes down to who you want Ertz to displace: Alana Cook or Andi Sullivan...and I should think it's obvious it should be the completely ineffective Sullivan, where attacks out of the back go to die. But the number of obvious calls Vlatko _doesn't_ make is getting hard to keep track of.

Expand full comment
founding

It's amusing hearing the announcers talk about ACFC having a shot at best second. The final four is already locked in. With us not winning, no other team can be best second unless KCC lose and they win by a combined 9 goals. Ain't happening - the group stage is over.

Personally I'm fine with the result. We played our crappiest game yet and don't deserve better. This team has real problems in the lower half of the roster and management has no interest in fixing it. So we'll probably embarrass ourselves again next week and then a blessed break.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

Speaking of which, did anybody watch Casey Kruger v KC FUBAR?

The announcing crew, including the wonderful Gary Bailey, were reduced to banter the likes of which I haven't heard since Skip Caray worked Braves games on the SuperStation. I mean, vintage mid-late 1980s, late-season, late-inning blowout, Braves already long since eliminated from contention type banter.

I swear they were actually talking about how keepers fit buddy-taped fingers into their gloves.

Expand full comment

Skip Caray... What a legend!

Expand full comment

Well Gary Bailey is a gem too. He is a rare treat on the NWSL viewing menu.

Expand full comment

Time to roll out the same old excuses.

Expand full comment

It's good that this team didn't somehow luck into the knockouts. I'm sick of watching them and I think they are sick of playing.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

Moultrie seen crying at the end there....tough night for her.

Expand full comment

Use it as fuel, kiddo. That's all you can do. And take care of that split lip.

Expand full comment

I feel for her. Only 17.

Expand full comment

I read that, and I can't help thinking of this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=57kJNWNL-UA

Expand full comment

I feel for her, she's been asked to do a lot during this world cup period but its a lot to ask a 17 year old to basically lead a team.

Expand full comment

Yeah, KK also didn't really set the team up well during the break either. Part of this mess of a break has been the missing FO.

Expand full comment

I'm guessing KK isn't planning on being here next year. I'm also guessing Merritt isn't authorizing any real expenditures right now. The only player news we've had all season is that Leon came here on loan and that Horan requested a permanent transfer. That's it.

Expand full comment

You wouldn’t think so if you heard how much she talks about being the GM of the Thorns on every match broadcast I’ve seen her on…it’s happened I think literally every time I’ve seen her pregame/halftime/post match for each game.

But yeah, it’s a total bummer when I’m just watching other teams sign big new players and improve their roster, or, at the very least get contracts over the line for existing players…there are so many question marks on our roster as of now, and if those players aren’t here next year? They would require similar big names to maintain our baseline, and who is doing that scouting and recruiting right now?

Expand full comment

Oh god, it's even worse then. She's using it as a platform to recruit. I mean, "recruit."

Expand full comment

“As the GM of the Portland Thorns….” has been how she’s started many of her sentences…it’s been a little cringey for me, personally, but I’m very much not someone who feels remotely comfortable with self-promotion or “networking”. I guess it mostly feels cringey, because our club is a mess right now and has been for three years, and I am personally embarrassed by our club currently. She almost feels like a car saleswoman to me or something, trying to sell her product (the Thorns) to the masses…

I’ve been curious about what she talks about, so I’ve watched all her commentary (despite having to also hear Carli Lloyd and Alexi Lalas say words.) Maybe she’s able to rub shoulders with some agents…I guess that’s the best I can hope for. Angerer too. She’s been over there as well, so we have no GM or no GK coach currently…

Expand full comment

Even before the corner came in, I said to myself "Bixby is getting a header here." Sure enough!

Expand full comment

No deja vu here

Expand full comment

I know it's late in the match and she's probably getting tired, but Hubs is doing a LOT of switching off, walking, ball-watching, lazy passing, lazy marking here in stoppage time.

Expand full comment

The entire backline needs to be reworked. It's gotten old and stale.

Expand full comment

'Brunn, even when available again, is probably in her last year. We have yet to find a proper long-term preplacement for Kling (also probably in her last year).

I think Menges has a bit more left in the tank. She's not what she was, but has been steadily - if not swiftly - rounding back in to decent form.

If Kuikka can start consistently playing at the level she's capable of, I have no issues there...but she has to fix the "sine wave" problem with her form.

I have, with no small regret, come to the conclusion that Hubly is more of a depth piece than a starter on a team that wants to be elite-tier. She has _most_ of the tools, but the two areas where she's lacking - not a quick first step and not a quick thinker - combine to create an exploitable problem: she gets caught out behind the play. That's a fatal flaw in a centerback, since it continually exposes the 'keeper.

The upshot? Our biggest defensive needs are at least one top-rank CB and a top-rank LB. We also need depth at RB and at the #6.

Expand full comment

Yeah, I think you're right with Hubly. Her ceiling can be hit when she's playing with a high-level CB who can be the director, but with Brunn out and getting older, and Menges not quite what she was, Hubly has also backslid a lot. The last two seasons were up and down for her, but this one in particular has been pretty poor. Of course, I attribute some of that to coaching tactics, but she just doesn't look in it for 90 mins and isn't consistent enough to be counted upon. Also, as you mentioned with her fatal flaws...I think these are being exposed even more so because of how Norris plays his fullbacks. The perfect shitstorm for Hubs, unfortunately.

I'm curious how you rate Reyes...she's def got good tools, but she's a rookie and def makes rookie mistakes and she just doesn't have the wisdom and awareness experience brings. Should she be starting over Kling at LB? Or are you saying you think Reyes should be the first sub off the bench for either LB or RB? I'd agree I'd rather have an actual RB on the roster for depth.

And, I do think one of our other main targets needs to be an improvement at the 6. It has been so painful watching Porter out there. Her speed and reaction time is insanely slow, like paaainfully slow, and she usually has the most turnovers of any of the 22 players on the field. Generally always the obvious weakest point...not what you want at the 6. Also, it's very possible Coffey starts getting call-ups in the near future and there needs to be a better plan for that.

Lastly for personnel replacement, a new coach with some club/college HC experience. Norris ain't it.

Expand full comment

Somebody buy this flippin team already!

Expand full comment

Yeah she seems like she DGAF anymore. This whole backline has looked that way most of the season, though, tbf...

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

I'm sorry, but did y'all just catch Hubs jogging into the corner and then walking and ballwatching in the 93rd minute? Did someone forget to tell her that there's 10 minutes of stoppage time tonight?

Expand full comment

Ballwatching? Well...why change a game-long pattern?

Expand full comment

Jeezus, we have to watch 10 more minutes of this match???

Expand full comment

10 minutes helps

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 31, 2023

Boy, how bad are San Diego that they surrendered 4 goals to THIS Portland side? They have 1, count em on one finger, 1 win in their last 11 matches, regular season and CC. I think Stoney's about done here.

Expand full comment

Girma and Sheridan make a big difference.

Expand full comment

True, but the shitslide began long before Girma and Sheridan left. It's actually just 1 win in 11 matches.... Ooof.

Since May 20 (a 3-0 win), SD Champipple are 1-3-7 in all competitions and 0-1-4 since they lost Girma, Sheridan, and Co.

Expand full comment

Oof, pretty well sums up the Thorns game tonight right there.

Expand full comment

That may be the worst penalty I've ever seen.

Expand full comment

Wasn't a confident attempt, that's for sure. Damn.

Expand full comment

Maybe not the worst, but it was a very poor attempt.

Expand full comment

Did she catch her foot on the ground?

Expand full comment

Not that I saw

Expand full comment

Can't we fib and say that she did?

Expand full comment

Just hoping for some late game drama now.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

Love the effort to draw the penalty. Let's see what happens here...

And boy was that a soft attempt. See what I said below about struggling with the mental game right now.

Expand full comment

Welp

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

But I liked her shot on the next play. She shook off the disappointment quickly. That's a good sign. Also liked her pass into the center for that shot by Porter.

Expand full comment

Yeah, that was a very good attempt. Anderson had to get down _fast_ to save that one.

Expand full comment

Question: Why is Becki Tweed dressed on the sideline like she just finished leading a 1:1 training session?

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

I've been pretty disappointed with Moultrie during this period. She's been invisible and/or poor for multiple games. Really was hoping to see a whole lot more from her....Sam hasn't been great during this period either. The Porter, Coffey, Moultrie midfield has been lackluster and messy with no bite.

Expand full comment

I was just thinking the same thing. Neither have stepped up like I expected them to.

Expand full comment

And just as I post this, she earns a penalty...and I do mean earned. That was slick.

Expand full comment

And then chokes on the pk...terrible shot.

Expand full comment

Yep. Looked to me like she got the yips.

Expand full comment

Moultrie isn't ready to carry the load. She needs more quality around her. Not sure exactly why that might be. But it's apparent.

Expand full comment

When the big dogs are playing Moultrie gets a lot of time and space. Not now and she's still just 17 and she looks it. She'll look better after the WC.

Expand full comment

emotional/mental/psychological development comes after physical development. she just seems to be struggling.

Expand full comment

Moultrie having a rough game. She's getting tossed around, which is surprising given that she's at least as big as most players on the pitch.

Expand full comment

0.29 xG says it all.

Expand full comment

I think Morris was willing to coach a team with ownership in flux, KK said she reached out to the other candidates from the Wilkinson hire to see if they were interested . I don't see the Thorns getting a top coach until the club is sold and a new owner cones in with vision and ambition.

Expand full comment

If the team is sold. I’m increasingly skeptical.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

I saw KK on the World Cup coverage & screamed "What are you doing there?!?!?!?" Your team is barely able to pass the ball and you are telling me that you get to watch Sophia Smith everyday in practice in Portland.

None of this is helping my mood

Expand full comment

Why do you assume a GM can’t do her job remotely? It’s also a chance to network, identify prospects, and more.

Expand full comment

I think it's more that I'm unsure if she is good at her primary job as the Thorns GM. It isn't her working remotely for which many of us have adjusted to in our own work lives but it's taking a 2nd job when she is only in her 2nd year at her primary job and that isn't going great at the moment.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

It's hard to judge her quality as a general manager. The circumstances are odd to say the least. Clearly there were limitations in having to quickly hire a coach last fall after Wilkinson's sudden departure, especially with the team supposedly up for sale. There also appears to have been a lack of aggressiveness is finding temporary players for during the WC. And we don't know what she's doing to push Norris to make improvements in the team. Nor do we know how much the publicly invisible CEO is involved, either limiting or helping what KK might be trying to accomplish.

I do believe one of KK's top priorities is keeping Sophie under contract, so I'm fine with her lavishing attention on her at the WC. And it would seem that hiring a better coach for next season would be a priority too, but if so how is that going to work if indeed a team sale is still going to happen (if ever)?

It all adds up to a mess.

Expand full comment

'Cause she's straight up doing a different job for a different company for a month... https://www.foxsports.com/presspass/bios/on-air/karina-leblanc/

That is bush league as hell, especially since the Thorns FO is like 2 people.

Expand full comment

I was baffled by KK being gone for a month for a whole different job. I'd get it if she was there scouting for a couple weeks, but that's not what KK is doing.

I can't imagine Ned or Jack being gone for a month.

Expand full comment

It's almost like when Parsons was allowed to coach the Oranje while he was still on the job here. We know how that turned out!

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

I'm so bummed at this situation: this is my last year in the stands (unless plans collapse at the last minute, I'm emigrating in September). Always a supporter, but I was hoping for a great final year here...and things need to turn around, even with the internationals back, for that to happen.

Expand full comment

Emigrate if you must, but don't take Hina with you.

Expand full comment

Hmmm...maybe I can try and get some more top players to head over to the the Thorns. Only instead of poaching from the team I support in the WE League (Beleza), I can focus on their main rivals, Uwara and Kobe. ;)

Expand full comment

Ok, where does Aoba Fujino play and can we get her here?! I liked Ueki also, but she seems a little further behind than Fujino...though I admit that's just from the few games I've seen from Japan at the WC and SheBelieves. Fujino looks hungry and I love that in a forward.

Expand full comment

She plays where Norris has got Sugita: left wing, with a tendency to slide centrally. Given my move, I'm not necessarily hoping she ends up in Portland (she plays for my Beleza, and they've been picked over too damn much!), but just imagine getting her here and moving Hina-san to the 10. With Soph. And Chaos Muppet out left. Best attack in WoSo? I coudl be convinced...

Riko Ueki is actually Beleza's leading scorer and is older than Fujino (although still young: 24). She's Beleza's starting #9.

I've noticed how aggressive Aoba looks, too. It's gonna mess me up at work tomorrow, but I can't wait to watch the match v Spain tonight (although with both teams through to the knockouts, the coaches may rotate heavily).

Expand full comment

Yeah, I haven’t watched either for all that long (just a few tournaments). I’m surprised Ueki is 5 years older than Fujino, though, just based on their play and aggression. 19 years old and already that hungry and confident? I love it. Ueki looked a bit more more cautious and missed a few big shots she probably should’ve put away. Fujino just looks capable of some audacious goals and I love thest she’s only 19. You mentioned she played on the left wing…can she play on the right wing? Of course wouldn’t wanna displace Hina, but I’d really love to have a true winger/forward. I am biased though…I was a RW/LW/striker but prob predominantly a RW most often.

Gonna feel it tomorrow, but definitely staying up for Spain v Japan tonight as well. It’s been circled on my calendar since the schedule was released. Do you think Hina will start? I feel like she was a bit timid last game, and wonder if Endo showed a bit better in the first game because she got a goal. Hina is more crafty, though…could very well be useful against Spain.

C’mon coaches! We want a full strength Japan v Spain tactical showdown!

Expand full comment

If Fujino has even one more goal in her that's comparable to the one she dropped on Costa Rica, she's worth an NWSL contract!

Expand full comment

Becki Tweed: The only person able to stop McCaskill tonight.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

In an aside...

I have Timbers/Thorns stadium beverage cups from 2023 and from 2021.

You know, the kind used for holding those ungodly expensive on-tap beers and ciders.

You will NOT be surprised to learn that the 2021 cups hold 2 oz more fluid than do the 2023 cups.

So, yes, we were getting 2 oz more beverage, and at a lower price, in 2021 than we are in 2023.

Thanks, Merritt!

BTW, SELL THE TEAM.

Expand full comment

Why would we take off Weaver and Natu?

Expand full comment

Yah, in a tied (well, down now) game? Beckman and D'Aquila, with 0 goals between them. Just, not even a quiet quit lol...

Expand full comment

McCaskill off too. At this point, it's a meaningless game for both sides. No sense having your best players risk getting injured?

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

There was still a window where the Thorns could've gone through to the next round, and the game was tied at that point. But, yeah, his decision kinda cemented that he was not gonna shoot to win and possibly get that 4th spot. Just don't like his mentality...I'm sure the players still wanted a shot at a million bucks.

Expand full comment

Possibly for development? Its painful, but for the Challenge Cup maybe Norris wants to give bench players more playing time to help during the regular season

Expand full comment

I'm thinking they've basically given up on advancing, even though they're not mathematically out of it.

Expand full comment

Why Weaver out for D'Aquila? Is she hurt?

Expand full comment

You know it's gonna be a long night when McCaskill has a brace.

Expand full comment

Hate it here. Literally my least favorite player in the league lol, pretty pretty hard to watch...no hat trick at least, please!

Expand full comment

Fortunately, she got subbed off!

Expand full comment

There’s a formula for beating the Thorns, and Norris keeps letting it work.

Expand full comment

We've gotta have the slowest midfield in the league currently lol. The fullback problem is still a problem. Def 10 seconds of focus after a full half of absolute mess. Maybe we can win ugly, but it sure doesn't inspire confidence with this coach or this group.

Expand full comment

We need to be looking for high-end players at both fullback and centerback, imo.

Expand full comment

Agreed.

Expand full comment

Despite loving her to pieces this better be Klingenberg's last season. Their goal came because she was 15 yards from her mark.

Expand full comment

I just rolled it back and I don't think Kling's mark wasn't involved. Spencer was being marked by Betford. McCaskill looked to be Hubly's mark, and Kelli got caught on the wrong side of her.

Expand full comment

But yeah...Kling is way out of position a lot tonight.

Expand full comment

Yeah, I love Kling. She's been dreadful today and it's been a pretty poor season for her, unfortunately. Part of that is the coaching, I think, but so so many individual errors on her part that have directly led to goals (and games lost.)

Expand full comment

44 minutes of dreck and then 30 seconds of magic. That's what makes this a great sport. Lots of dreck though. I particular am impressed by the blob defense. Everybody find a place and stand there.

Expand full comment

Finally, great shot by Weaver

Expand full comment

Morgan Weaver, despite it all! Hopefully that lights a fire....

Expand full comment

Yes Weaver!

Expand full comment

Now that was a pretty team goal!

Expand full comment

Nice little pass from Betfort. Kuikka's ball wasn't fantastic, but Weaver recovered well, composed herself, and supplied a beautiful curling shot. Betfort has been quieter thus far, but I still like what I am seeing from her in terms of touch, movement, speed, passing. She's on her way.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

This team is poorly coached and the individual errors are numerous, whew....would like to know if anyone is counting the turnovers we've had lol.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

Constant feeling of the Thorns playing down 2 players.....And then they do that.

"F#$@ Yeah" to quote Morgan Weaver after that goal

Expand full comment

When a few players look poor...prob an off day, but if EVERYONE looks poor? Probably the coaching...

Expand full comment

This is just brutal to watch, I laughed at the 45% possession at halftime then remembered all the time penned in

Expand full comment

Ran out of fingers by the five minute mark...

Expand full comment

Damn: Bella just got kicked right on the point of the shoulder going down to the pitch to collect a ball in the six yard box.

Expand full comment

This is really brutal to watch.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2023·edited Jul 30, 2023

Not good y'all lol. Just kickball...no connection. Bad giveaways. Please, don't make me watch a multiple-McKaskill-goal game.

Expand full comment

This comment didn't age well.

Expand full comment

Yep, can confirm: did not feel good lol

Expand full comment

Kelli Hubly ballwatching.

I should just keep that in my paste cache...

Expand full comment

My God we look terrible. Do we even practice together?

Expand full comment

Yeah...no sense of connection that I can see.

Expand full comment

Nice to see Hannah and Reyna get the starts

Expand full comment

To me, it looks like a 442 with Reyes in the midfield, and Weaver and Betfort up top. Porter/Coffey double pivot, hopefully....worked much better last game. Kuikka back in action, hope she's not too rusty. LFG gals.

Expand full comment